Sreenarayanaguru Open University is established by the Government of Kerala to impart higher education through distance learning and online mode and for skill development by deviating from the educational system existing in the state, utilizing modern technological methods in all areas of knowledge at different levels. The University has been named after the great social reformer Sreenarayanaguru and has its headquarters in Kollam. The University was established and incorporated by Ordinance No. 25 of 2020, promulgated by the Governor of Kerala on 23rd September 2020. The University was dedicated to the nation by Sri. Pinarayi Vijayan, the Hon’ble Chief Minister of Kerala.

The Governor of Kerala shall, by virtue of his office, be the Chancellor of the University. The Minister-in-charge of Higher Education in the State shall be the Pro-Chancellor of the University. Dr. P. M. Mubarak Pasha is the First Vice-Chancellor of the University. Dr. S. V. Sudheer is the First Pro-Vice Chancellor and Dr. P. N. Dileep is the First Registrar of the University.

It is the first open university in the state of Kerala and the fifteenth open university in country. The University consisting of Regional Centres, Programme centres and Study Centres and have its territorial limits across the whole state of Kerala.

Dr. P. M. Mubarak Pasha
The Vice Chancellor

Latest News